2012

We have about 6.5 hours in my neck of the woods until the clock strikes midnight and it will be a whole new year.

Did anybody say we weren’t gonna make it through 2012.. ya know, the whole Mayans armageddon and shit? Welp, looks like we came out of it on the other side (relatively) unscathed, huh?

What’s everyone doing tonight ? Or, for those who are already in the future, what did you do last night?

We’re (mostly) staying home, watching movies on the couch with my oversized sweatpants and pigging out on a variety of appetizer snacks. Gluttony is the name of the game, friends. Before that though, we’re having Korean BBQ with some friends. Ain’t nothing like grilled meat to say “HAPPY NEW YEARS”, I tell ya.

2012 has been a very interesting year for me. A few of very prominent, important things became a reality to me. I made a pilgrimage back home. It’s certainly a year of ups and downs, and as a family now we’re still getting through a storm, but generally, I say we’re on to a very happy start. This year I became quite close with my brother-in-law’s girlfriend Lindsey, a place I thought I’d never come to. This year I’ve met some new, very kind and genuine mommy friends, a year ago I had just one. This year our relationship with some of my husband’s family was tarnished. It’s most unfortunate, but such is life, I suppose. Maybe next year will be the year for making amends in this regard… we’ll see. This year my son has become a much bigger (little) boy. An active part of the family. He remains the most amazing part, my biggest achievement in life.

This year I met my two best friends. It’s been years, and I’ve known these ladies half my life, we were partners in crime and they’ve seen me through better and worse days. I am so, so thankful for that.

This year, through this blogging medium, I was able to meet with Rika, a blogger whose reading I’ve been a fan of for quite sometime. I truly enjoyed meeting her & her awesome little family. She was so adorable, a beautiful woman, very softspoken and smart. Maybe next year, we’ll meet again ya Rik?

.. I also hope that my driving will improve soon enough that maybe I’ll be able to head southeast and visit Rifi and her family. If not, Fi, I’ll wait for you here in STL, okay ? 😀

And for the rest of you blogging friends, maybe next time we’ll have the chance to meet in Indo ?

Either way, thank you for reading this blog, thank you for being a friend. I know I’m not much of a good blogger, my posts are few and far between..hahaha. But I want you to know that I think you’re all awesome.

Have a fantastic New Years, you guys!

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “2012

  1. Happy New Year Lan.
    Bikin ge-er aja tulisan lo ini.
    Gue baru aja mau kirim email ke elo, wondering if I’ll see you again in Jakarta/Bogor or maybe Sukabumi this year

    • Happy NY to you too ya mak.
      Mudah2an.. God willing,kalo ada rejeki pasti mudik lagi. Mudah2an kita bs ketemu di Sukabumi.. amiiinnnn. Kalo nggak, ya mudah2an tahun berikutnya deh, hehehe.

  2. Untunglah kemaren itu gak jadi kiamatnya yah…

    Masalahnya aku belum menang arisan RT..
    Mana belum tamat nonton drama korea full house season 2 pulak…hihi..
    *penting ituh*

    Baru nyadar bahwa ternyata standard ku cetek banget:-)

    Semoga tambah sukses di tahun 2013 yah wulan:-)

Leave a Reply

